Go back

May 16, 2022

2022 Tom Hendry Playwriting Awards

Each year the Playwrights Guild of Canada hosts an annual awards competition honouring Canadian playwrights in a wide range of categories, including the RBC Emerging Playwright Award, Carol Bolt Award, TYA Award, Comedy Award, Musical Award, Robert Beardsley Award for young writers, Lifetime and Honorary Membership Awards, and the Bra D’Or Award.

The awards are named after Tom Hendry, a founding member of PGC who passed away in 2012. The awards offer generous cash prizes and winners are recognized in a ceremony that takes place in the fall each year.

  • John Palmer Award
  • RBC Emerging Playwright Award
  • Playwrights Guild Drama Award
  • The PGC Comedy Award
  • The Dan School of Drama & Music Musical Award
  • The Arts and Letters Club of Toronto Foundation's Robert Beardsley Award for Young Playwrights
  • The Plays for Young People Award
  • Bra d'Or Award
  • Honorary Membership

Deadline for submissions May 16th