Go back

June 15, 2022

Emerging Digital Artists Award (EDAA)

The Emerging Digital Artists Award (EDAA) is Canada’s award for critical experimentation in digital media, proudly presented by EQ Bank and Trinity Square Video. Launched in 2015, the award celebrates the contributions of artists working exclusively in virtual space.

Each year, we seek artwork submissions from across the country that push us in new directions and challenge us to see the world through a different screen. Whether digital images, videos, animations, GIFs, websites, games, apps, artificial and virtual realities, or holograms (that’s right, we’re hopeful), the EDAA is here to recognize it, support it, and help it grow.

To be eligible, you’ll need to be: 

  • A resident of Canada 
  • At least 18 years of age 
  • An emerging artist 

We consider an emerging artist to be someone within the first five years of their professional career, beginning with their first solo or group exhibition in a museum, public or commercial gallery, or artist-run centre. 

Applicants are not required to be current students or to have completed a degree in Fine Arts. We encourage all emerging artists matching our definition to apply. 

Deadline: 11:59pm EST on June 15, 2022